people pushing, people shoving

05.11.2012

I keep forgetting to stop, and look at little things. Like how long George’s tongue really is. I guess I could make excuses about school, or stress, or just plainly not seeing it…. but here I am, stressed out, fretting over little things. I keep forgetting not to “sweat the small stuff” and the other thing – It’s ALL small stuff. This is something my Dad reminds me when I get stressed out, but he hasn’t been reminding me. So that was where George came in. George has been acting funny recently. You see, he’s not a competitive dog – AT ALL. He doesn’t care who’s first, if he has to run or walk… he doesn’t care if he wins or loses. He does what he wants and focuses on little things, like his tennis ball, treats or ANYTHING else.

And I should learn from him. Watching World Team Tryouts, I started to feel like I was at a loss. I started to feel a bit on the hopeless side, like I was fighting a losing battle. I wished George were “better” and wished for a puppy, a fresh start – more than anything. Here I was, with the coolest dog, feeling disappointed. This week of school flew by, managing to take my mind off of that feeling. So finally, today, I sat down with him. I watched him, bring back his tennis ball and we played fetch for about half an hour (he doesn’t wear out when he’s trotting ;))  Then I begun to understand. I’m not supposed to just *poof* have an awesome dog. I HAVE an awesome dog who I still need to learn from. I continued to pet him as he gnawed on his tennis ball. What’s the point of doing agility anyways. I thought of Linda Mecklenburg‘s post, “Call me Old Fashioned.” It was for fun, right? To bond, to learn, and to achieve. I began to become more grateful for George. He is what I need right now. I need to learn to relax. Enjoy the small things, find peace in little beauties… because what’s the point in life, if we don’t enjoy it?

8 Responses to “people pushing, people shoving”

  1. jessicavdl Says:

    I can relate with you on a level about WTT.

    I have Mayhem, yes, he may not be the fastest, or the best in the ring. But maybe one day we’ll get there. But even if we do, he can never tryout for the team. All because he only has half a pedigree. This makes me want to give up in more ways than anyone could imagine.

  2. Hillary Says:

    That “difficult” first dog is such a gift. They force you to think outside the box, try new things, and notice different ways of handling/training.

    I am SO grateful Lilly was/is my first “agility” dog. She’s taught (and is still teaching) me so many things. Enjoy the moment, bask in the happy imperfection of it all.

  3. Alli Farkas Says:

    Your thoughts on dog training and competition remind me of my journey with my horse–he’s not a perfect horse, but he’s a great teacher. If I were competitive and had acquired the perfect competition horse I would never have learned a thing, either about relating to horses or about training them. But since I’ve had to invest so much of my time in the relationship he has become my absolute best animal friend (even better than some of my human friends!) and even when he’s being naughty and/or uncooperative we still manage to have a good time together. I figure my investment in him is worth more than I could have paid any psychiatrist to keep me sane and healthy!

    Thanks for following my blog, and I wish you many good times with your dog, in or out of competition.

  4. Sarah Duke Says:

    Great post Nicole. A wonderful reminder. I’m clearly stalking (ahem, catching up on) your blog today. You’re writing is so lovely. I’m inspired and little teary eyed.


Comment?

